Blog, news & updates

Care Certificate Made Simple

hand placed caringly on another set of hands

iHASCO have created a Care Certificate eLearning package to cover the “theory” for those who are training to meet the 15 standards of care. We’ve brought Skills for Care’s Care Certificate Workbook to life with 15 concise, informative and engaging courses! iHASCO are a Skills for Care Endorsed Learning and Development Provider, so you can have complete confidence in the quality and suitability of our courses. Read on to understand why our Care Certificate eLearning package provides such a strong offering to the care industry and how it can work alongside practical training.

Many will already be aware that those starting a career in care are required to undertake quality training that allows them to meet and live by the 15 standards of care at work. These standards provide the knowledge, skills and behaviour that are required of all care professionals. Employers implementing the Care Certificate will assess their staff at work to ensure that they meet these standards in practical situations, but this cannot be achieved without their staff first learning about what is expected of them - and that’s where iHASCO comes in. 

We teach our users what they need to know so they can go on to complete their written assessments with confidence (from the Care Certificate Workbook), as well as their practical assessments with their employer - before providing high quality care.

The 15 Care Standards - training courses by iHASCO

Using our training courses means that a user’s learning can be approached systematically so information being relayed is never overwhelming. Each of the 15 courses provide worksheets that allow learners to make a note of any important content that will support their development and assessments. Here’s an overview of the 15 care standards you will be required to know about...

1. Understand your role: Details the behaviours and standards of work that are expected from you in your job role.

2. Your personal development: Covers why it is important to set goals and develop skills, so you can continuously learn.

3. Duty of care: Explains what your duty of care is to those you work with and those you care for.

4. Equality and diversity: Demonstrates that all people must be treated fairly and with respect - without exception and whilst taking account of their differences.

5. Person-Centred Care: Working in a person centred way means working in partnership with an individual to plan their care and support.

6. Communication: Understand what effective communication is in a care setting and why it is vital.

7. Privacy and dignity: Understand the role of dignity and respect for anyone being cared for, along with maintaining confidentiality at all times.

8. Fluids and nutrition: Covers what a balanced and nutritious diet involves and looks at the role of food safety to avoid contamination of food.

9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning difficulties: Awareness of these will enable carers to tailor care towards individuals and understand any personal requirements for care.

10. Safeguarding adults: This is about protecting vulnerable adults and keeping them safe from harm and understanding your responsibilities if you suspect abuse.

11. Safeguarding children: This covers protecting children from abuse and keeping them safe from harm through recognising signs and reporting any concerns.

12. Basic life support: Covers the knowledge of basic life support; an initial assessment of a casualty (primary survey), airway maintenance and CPR. Practical training is also required.

13. Health & safety in care: Covers which pieces of legislation are relevant to Health & Safety in Care and how they impact your role.

14. Handling information: Demonstrates the importance of confidentiality of individuals receiving care and how to work with their data.

15. Infection prevention and control: Explains how to prevent the spread of infection as well as the importance of good hygiene.

The theory and practical combo - strengthening learning

Both theory and hands on practice play a vital role in learning. We believe here at iHASCO we have created quality courses for each of the standards in the care certificate to go side by side practical training.

Theory gives you a good understanding of the subject but learning from practical experiences will strengthen your knowledge and give you the confidence to develop professionally in your care setting. Sometimes it is only through doing that you can gain a greater professional understanding by having the opportunity to learn in a real life situation. However by understanding the theory you will have a good base to be able to strive to excel in your role.

He who loves practice without theory is like the sailor who boards ship without a rudder and compass and never knows where he may cast.

Leonardo da Vinci

iHASCO's Care Certificate e-Learning courses are available as a complete package to help support your staff with their theoretical training from just £2 per course, per person - providing cost effective and engaging training to support practical learning for the 15 standards of care. Please get in touch if you would like to discuss your current training requirements, with no obligations.

We also provide other suitable online courses for the care industry and you can try our courses for free here.

iHASCO's online care certificate courses