Covered in this course

The Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults (SOVA) Training course is broken down into 3 sections.

1) What is safeguarding and who needs it?

Safeguarding is about improving a person's welfare and keeping them safe from harm. In this section we ask WHO is at risk?

We look at the legal framework, the principles of Safeguarding and The Mental Capacity Act. We also look at what should be included in a safeguarding policy.

A man safeguarding a vulnerable adult from abuse as part of our safeguarding vulnerable adults training programme

2) What is abuse? The forms of abuse

This section looks at what constitutes abuse. It looks at the tell-tale signs that abuse might be happening, so you know what to look out for.

Abuse in vulnerable adults can be in the form of: 

  • physical abuse
  • emotional abuse
  • sexual abuse
  • neglect
  • financial abuse
  • discriminatory abuse
  • institutional abuse
Banner of close ups of vulnerable people looking angry, scared, and upset to show safeguarding vulnerable adults

3) Dealing with Abuse

Dealing with abuse and reporting abuse can be upsetting and should be handled sensitively. It's important to ACT and it's crucial to act QUICKLY.

In this section we give step by step guidance explaining what to do if you think abuse might be taking place or if someone makes a disclosure to you. We look at raising an alert, making a referral and what should be included in a written report.

Image showing the steps to follow when dealing with abuse on behalf of a vulnerable adult

Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults Certificate

Each of our courses ends with a multiple choice test to measure your knowledge of the material.

This Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults Training course concludes with a 20 question multiple choice test with a printable certificate. In addition, brief in-course questionnaires guide the user through the sections of the training and are designed to reinforce learning and ensure maximum user engagement throughout.

As well as printable user certificates, training progress and results are all stored centrally in your LMS (Learning Management System) and can be accessed any time to reprint certificates, check and set pass marks and act as proof of a commitment to ongoing legal compliance.

What does my certificate include?

Your SOVA Training Certificate will include your name, company name (if applicable), name of course taken, pass percentage, date of completion, expiry date and stamps of approval or accreditations by recognised authorities.

Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults Training Certificate

Real user reviews

Based on 285 real user reviews.

4.39 out of 5
Concise and informative

The explanations were good. The information was concise and bite-size. The multiple choice questions helped embed the lessons.

Very good And very usefull learnt lot

No summary provided


No summary provided

Basic but good

No summary provided


No summary provided


No summary provided

Very useful

No summary provided

I successfully achieved 20 out of 20

Without taking any notes successfully achieved 20 out of 20. I think that it may be because of the various learning mediums used, for example I was listening as well as following the written script. It appears to work for me 😊

Read our full reviews for Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults (SOVA) Training.

Legislations relating to the safeguarding of vulnerable adults

It's important that you comply with the law and know the ways in which it affects you and the way you work. Take a look at relevant legislation below.

When it comes to the law regarding Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults, there are a number of documents that set out legal obligations:

The Care Act 2014 means that local councils have to set up a Safeguarding Adults Board in their area. This must include the local council, the NHS and the Police as well as other local services. They must work together to make policies and plans to protect adults at risk in their area.

The Health and Social Care Act 2012: This Act establishes and makes various provisions, including:

[the need] to make provision about regulating health and adult social care services; [as well as a] scrutiny of health matters by local authorities and co-operation between local authorities and commissioners of health care services

The Health and Social Care Act 2012, Chapter 7

The Mental Capacity Act 2005: The primary purpose of this Act is to provide a legal framework for acting and making decisions on behalf of adults who lack the capacity to make decisions for themselves.

The Equality Act 2010: This Act ensures equal treatment of everyone regardless of their protected characteristics, which include age and disability.

The Human Rights Act 1998: This Act contains a list of 16 rights which all people in the UK have. It places a legal duty on public authorities to respect and protect our human rights in everything they do.

The Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups Act 2006:

...places a statutory duty on all those working with vulnerable groups to register and undergo an advanced vetting process with criminal sanctions for non-compliance

Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups Act 2006
Chat with us!