GDPR regulation now enforced! Start working towards compliance today...

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) Training

This online DoLS Training explains what needs to be done before a deprivation of liberty can be authorised. It has been designed to be used by anyone who cares for someone who may lack the mental capacity to make decisions for themselves.

Key Features & Benefits of this Course

  • Complete this online training in just 30 minutes
  • CPD accredited
  • Helps you to comply with the legal requirements of MCA DOLS
  • Broken down into 4, easy to follow sections, that help guide you through a deprivation of liberty
  • End of course test and printable certificate
  • Free trial, online demo and bulk discounts available
  • Course translations readily available!

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) Training Course Contents

1. What is Deprivation of Liberty?

In this section we look at what deprivation of liberty means and who could be affected by it. We look at restrictions and restraint and the importance of recognising that if you're applying a number of restrictions and restraints together or for long periods this could add up to depriving them of their liberty.

2. Authorising a Deprivation of Liberty

This section covers the standard authorisation procedure AND the urgent authorisation procedure. It looks at the six assessments that must be done and who is responsible for doing what.

It also covers the formal process of review and how to suspend a standard authorisation.

3. The Safeguards

The deprivation of liberty safeguards exist to protect a person's human right to be free. The safeguards ensure that the person has some form of backup - they can have support, they can insist on a review and they have the right of appeal to the Court of Protection.

In this section we look at these safeguards and we look at when they can't be used and we look at what you should do if you think someone is being deprived of their liberty, but it's not been authorised.

4. The Importance of Record Keeping

The Mental Capacity Act has procedures for authorising a deprivation of liberty in hospitals and care homes and there are a number of forms that can help make sure correct procedures are followed.

In this section we look at the forms, the procedure and the importance of record keeping.

 DoLS Certificate

This Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards Training (DoLS) course concludes with a 20 question multiple choice test with a printable certificate. In addition, brief in-course questionnaires guide the user through the sections of the training and are designed to reinforce learning and ensure maximum user engagement throughout.

As well as printable user certificates, training progress and results are all stored centrally in your LMS (Learning Management System) and can be accessed any time to reprint certificates, check and set pass marks and act as proof of a commitment to ongoing legal compliance.

What does my certificate include?

Your Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards Training Certificate includes your name, company name (if applicable), name of course taken, pass percentage, date of completion, expiry date and all relevant approvals.

 Legislations relating to DoLS

The Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards 2009

What is The Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards? 

The Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards are an amendment to the Mental Capacity Act 2005. They apply in England and Wales only. The MCA DOLS were introduced to prevent deprivations of liberty without proper safeguards including independent consideration and authorisation. Deprivations of liberty in hospitals or care homes - other than under the Mental Health Act - should now follow the MCA DOLS process and all affected patients and residents should benefit from the new safeguards.

[This] legislation includes a statutory requirement for all care homes and hospitals as well as local authorities to keep clear and comprehensive records for every person deprived of their liberty. This includes records of applications for authorisations, details of the assessment process, information about the relevant person's representative and the documentation related to termination of authorisation.

The Mental Capacity Act Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (MCA DOLS)

There are six assessments which have to take place before a standard authorisation can be given to deprive somebody of their liberty. 

If a standard authorisation is given, one key safeguard is that the person has someone appointed with legal powers to represent them. This is called the relevant person's representative and will usually be a family member or friend.

Other safeguards include rights to challenge authorisations in the Court of Protection, and access to Independent Mental Capacity Advocates (IMCAs).

 Reviews More reviews

easy to use and understand.

By on August 10, 2018
No summary provided.


By on June 6, 2018
I enjoyed doing the course

Excellent and easy to follow

By on October 20, 2017
Excellent information and easy to follow