Blog, news & updates

Safeguarding Training Levels: What’s the Difference?

Teacher on the phone

For some jobs, certain levels of safeguarding training are essential. But knowing which levels are required for each job can be confusing and so we have provided this useful guide to help you understand which training might be most suitable for your individual situation.

Depending on which course you take, you will learn about different levels of safeguarding but all courses will help you to understand what your responsibilities are in regard to safeguarding and how to effectively safeguard children in your care. 

Level 1 Training

Level 1 is a starting point for safeguarding training; you don’t need to have any prior knowledge or training before you take this course. Sometimes referred to as an ‘Introduction’ or ‘Induction’, this training will provide an introduction into safeguarding, what it is, recognising the signs of abuse, reporting and recording concerns and what to do in the event of a safeguarding incident.  

Which jobs require this training?

People who might require this training could be those in the following roles: 

  • Receptionists and administrative workers
  • Teachers, nursery workers, carers, childminders
  • Policing staff
  • Doctors, nurses, paramedics and health workers
  • Social workers & council staff
  • Sports teachers/coaches
  • Religious leaders/volunteers 

Level 2 Training

Level 2 training will build on from everything that is included in the Level 1 training but will provide a more in-depth understanding of procedures, what happens after you have referred a child and also provide various safeguarding scenarios/examples. You should also learn about legislation related to safeguarding.

This training might also be called ‘advanced safeguarding’ and is best suited to those who have more frequent contact with children and want to build on their existing safeguarding knowledge. 

Which jobs require this training?

As well as all of the job roles mentioned for the Level 1 training, some workplaces or employers might require that those job roles complete the Level 2 course. this training might also be suitable for

  • Anyone listed above
  • Those who engage in regulated activities
  • Teachers who are expected to have advanced safeguarding knowledge and training
  • Any other school staff who spend a lot of time with children and would be able to recognise the signs of abuse

Level 3 Training

Level 3 safeguarding training is designed for the people with a heavily active role in safeguarding in a workplace and has a role in the safeguarding policies, which might include the Designated Safeguarding Officer/Lead (DSL). These people need to follow and fulfil essential responsibilities such as working with families where an issue has been raised, creating and enforcing safeguarding policies in your school, making referrals to social services when it is required and recognising safeguarding issues. This training will not only build on the knowledge in Level 1 and Level 2 training but is designed with DSL’s responsibilities in mind.

Which jobs require this training?

This training is suitable for anyone whose main job role is safeguarding. This could include:

  • Management role
  • A DSL role
  • Supervisor role
  • And for people who have frequent contact with children. 

Safeguarding Training Courses & Certificates

Here at iHASCO, we offer a range of Safeguarding Training Courses & Certificates, but our Safeguarding Children Training covers both Levels 1 & 2 and Standard 11 of the Care Certificate, and is endorsed by Skills for Care. We recommend our training for anyone that comes into contact with children as part of their work, including volunteers. 

Our course is broken down into 5 simple sections; Safeguarding Responsibilities, Recognising Abuse in Children, Responding to Abuse, Recording Observations and Reporting Concerns.

Why not get started with a free trial today and trial up to 3 of any one of our Safeguarding Courses? 

Online Safeguarding Training